Next Stop: Sydney!

Wow, I can’t believe that’s the reality! I am currently in route from Los Angeles to Sydney, Australia to start my Smith Fellowship! There’s been so much buildup to this moment that I am experiencing a rush of emotions right now. To see the months of prayer and preparation that went into my Fellowship start to manifest itself is overwhelming but in a exciting way.

I started to write this post when I first got on board the plane to Sydney. About ten hours ago, I wrote “My goal for my Fellowship is to let go and let God. The past few days have proven to me that it’s a lot easier to say that then to actually do it. For me, admittedly a control freak, to let go and let God needs to happen in steps. Right now, my prayer is to reduce my anxiousness about things out of my control”

Shortly after takeoff, the nerves I had about the flight and actually going to Australia diminished and God truly answered my prayer to be calm instead of anxious. If I am already seeing the Holy Spirit work in the first few hours of the Fellowship, it makes me only more excited to see what is in store for the next 6 weeks. On top of that, no one sat in the middle seat next to me on the plane so my Fellowship is really starting out on the right foot!

I am very excited for the week ahead in Sydney! Sister Cecilia Joseph organized where I will be serving each week of the Fellowship and I am particularly looking forward to the first week. I will be serving with the Australian Catholic Students Association (ACSA) and helping them prepare for their annual 3 day conference that will be held near Sydney this upcoming weekend. I will be able to attend the conference as a half helper and half attendee. I couldn’t think of a better way to start my Fellowship then to be surrounded by fellow Catholic college students! Stay tuned for pictures from the conference! (It includes a Harbor Cruise and a formal Ball!)

I am so ready to see all that the Holy Spirt has in store for the next 6 weeks. My hope is that I am able to help others learn and grow in their faith while I simultaneously learn and grow in my own faith and as a person. As I sit on the plane watching the little plane icon on the screen move closer to Australia, reality is starting to set in!

I would really appreciate prayers for my Fellowship and for all of PC’s Smith Fellows!

Signing off from somewhere over the South Pacific!

Claire

4 Comments Add yours

  1. Marisa says:

    so excited for you claire! and excited to follow your adventures through your blog – Marisa

    Like

    1. ahh thank you so much Marisa!!

      Like

  2. Ryan says:

    Haha, thats awesome about the seating thing… same setup for me! The flight attendant wouldnt give me the extra meal though…
    Claire, you are gonna do so many great things in your Fellowship, and the best things happen when you truly let go and let God, as you are prepared to do! God Bless, and Go Friars!

    Like

    1. That’s sweet! Haha bummer! Thank you so much and I’m so glad you had such a wonderful experience in the Solomons!

      Like

Leave a comment